Thanksgiving Week

Joe arrived home last Friday night and I went on a little writing hiatus just enjoying him being home. We went to a local gardening supply store with the kids to go see Santa’s reindeer . Then off to the grocery store to do some Thanksgiving shopping. We are hosting Thanksgiving this year, and like the odd duck that I am, I enjoy it. I made my dinner menu, made an ingredient list, got an official head count and started to get ready.

IMG_20181117_123252600_HDR
Santa’s Reindeer

Today’s Thanksgiving preparations included the continuing of a deep clean of the house. Dusting off ceiling fans, light fixtures and living room surfaces. I even went as far as wiping down vent covers and vacuuming in the duct work. Then I came across a hilariously true meme online that went like this, “Listen, If your going to someone’s house for Thanksgiving, complement their baseboards. That is what they are spending today cleaning.”  How true is that?! Like who is seriously going to come over to my home on Thursday and check the cleanliness of my toilet or vent covers?

Today is also the beginning of food prep for Thanksgiving. I made my portion of the desserts, a pecan praline pumpkin torte. Sounds divine right? Trust me it is. And it’s worth the time to make from scratch. I had a little taste test before putting it in the refrigerator and it is so good. I can’t wait to cut into it and have a cup of coffee with it.

IMG_20181120_172153863
Pecan Praline Pumpkin Torte

Joe also gets in on the food prep for Thanksgiving. This evening Joe cut up all the bagels I need to make my stuffing. Last year he told me that the bagel pieces were too big for stuffing so I told him if he wanted it his way he had to cut them up himself. So he did. I don’t have the patience my husband has to cut up each piece into perfect little squares. I’m more random and lean a bit more to the “rustic” look when it comes to making food. I’m better at making food taste good than making it look pretty.

IMG_20181119_201936566
Place Cards

Last night Joe helped me out with making place cards for our Thanksgiving table. We have 12 adults and three children coming and having simple place cards makes getting everyone to their seat a breeze. I found a simple and free printable on Pinterest and Joe used a program on his computer to insert names so I didn’t have to write them out. (My handwriting is less than pretty) I then printed and cut them out, so they are ready to go for tomorrow evening when I start setting the table.

Along with setting the table tomorrow’s prep also includes cooking up bacon, peeling potatoes and getting the turkey whom I have lovingly named, Julius, into an apple cider brine to soak overnight.

With all that being said I just can’t wait to celebrate our first Thanksgiving in our new home and start making some new holiday memories. I hope your Thanksgiving is low stress and fun-filled. And if “that relative” starts making that vein in your head start to throb, just go hide in the laundry room with a glass of wine and an extra slice of pie, no one will find you there.

Leave a comment